Be proud to be a girl

26 Sep

My daughter dances.

A simple statement that to most people is nothing out of the ordinary.

But to many others, it creates pity. That I’ve some how let her down by allowing her to “be girlie”.

My daughter will never dance. My daughter will play hockey.

And here we go with the tirade against girls being girls.

I thought we had come along way regarding females as the lesser of the two sexes. So, when I hear those statements, to me it feels like you’re trying to make the fact that she plays hockey or just plain “doesn’t dance”, make up for the fact that she was born female.  As if somehow, because of that, she’s damaged goods.

Despite the fact that my daughter has chosen dance to be her choice of discipline, my daughter also likes to play in the mud, hang with the boys, fight and be rowdy. She plays with both boys and girls. She is always dirty from head to toe. Except when she dances. For those brief moments she is ALL girl.

But even if she wasn’t slightly rough around the edges and was the stereotypical girl with perfect hair, pink clothes, frilly dresses and sparkly shoes, why isn’t that OK too?

In my mind as long as my daughter grows up to be  independent, well educated and has the ability to make enough money to support herself and her children and to never rely on a man to take care of her, that’s a win for her.

Whether she does that in heels, dresses, bows and curls or does that with jeans, a dirty tshirt and a baseball hat doesn’t really matter to me.

4 Responses to “Be proud to be a girl”

  1. El Guapo September 26, 2013 at 6:45 am #

    Yes! The labeling and stereotyping should really be done away with.
    And I bet your daughter is a wonderful dancer(just because she enjoys it. (You can see that kind of thing.)

    • myjampackedlife September 26, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

      She does. I think she’s an amazing dancer but I am slightly biased.how’ve you been lately. I’m bogged down with learning and education again and haven’t been commenting much, but I’m still reading!

      • El Guapo September 26, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

        This week I’m exhausted. Currently debating whether or not to do the usual post tomorrow, since I have another concert tonight.
        I need a nap.
        That lasts three days.

        How is scholl going? Learning exciting new things?

      • myjampackedlife September 27, 2013 at 6:08 am #

        yes learning lots of new things. applying the knowledge i’ve learned over the past year to real life situations takes on a whole new meaning. exhausting but only 4 months left and then i can start earning a paycheck again!

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

