What to do with all those year end school projects

28 Jun
Today my daughter brought home her abundance of artwork and scrapbooks and projects from school. Two grocery bags full! Uh. My immediate thought was JUNK, JUNK throw it all away. That’s so much easier and neater than any other option.
But I didn’t.
I went through it like a good mom, picking out anything I thought showcased her personality, talent or had any humor at all. Every year I keep a portfolio of my kids year and only save the important things. I just can’t possibly keep it all. I really don’t want to keep any of it. In the moment anyway. But I remember looking back through my old school projects and class pictures and notes I had written and then I remember how fun that was for ME.
And then I realize I’m not keeping these things for myself for the future. These things are for her to look back on and reminisce about. It’s a chance for her to get a glimpse of what she was like when she was younger. They are for her memories.
 
So, off I go to do another one of my “jobs”. Add memory preserver to my already long list of talents, please and thank you!
 
 
One Response to “What to do with all those year end school projects”

  1. Glen July 10, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    It’s a tough one – ours generally get dumped in the garage, then ruined, then discretely thrown. It’s a tricky one though because it my be tat but it’s tat with memories

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

