Canada on How I Met Your Mother!

6 Mar

I just watched a recent episode of How I Met Your Mother and I am almost in tears!!

Good tears.

If you haven’t watched it, Barney travels to Canada to uncover a hidden secret from Robin’s past. His first stop is the most noted Canadian icon of all…A Tim Horton’s restaurant!

They basically got every Canadian actor to guest star, threw in every cliche and stereotype regarding Canadians and even tried to fake our accent!! Which by the way, sounded NOTHING like anyone I know. But I love watching them try anyways.
At one point a man answered his door wearing his goalie pads and mask. Every door he knocked on someone offered him a Tim Horton’s doughnut. And of course the maple leaf and maple syrup were mentioned.
I found the whole thing endearing and amusing. For someone living in rural Canada, I thought some of the stereotypes were dead on. Im sure the more rural areas of the country thought they exaggerated too much, and for some things I did too, but that is almost what made me love it more.

I love the fact that we are such an enigma to some. Instead of being ashamed and angry at the way others portray us, I felt immense pride in the fact that I am one of the lucky ones who actually get to know and see the real Canada and the real Canadian life.

I didn’t think it was demeaning or dimished anything about us as Canadians at all. We do play hockey, we do have a Tim Horton’s on basically every street corner and we are friendly and polite even when mad. We also play many other sports, eat at other restaurants and aren’t always friendly. I’m sure for every one Canadian who thought this was spot on there will be 2 or 3 who think they got it all wrong too.

I can’t help but think of all the drama created over the same thing with other cultures and religions. Why do we have such a hard time embracing what we are and laughing about it. Why does everything have to be seen as a negative instead of proud of the fact that we are a unique group and have these quirks that make us who we are.

I love that there are people out there thinking “Is that really how they are up there?”. Not everyone gets to know all the secrets, but this time I do.

Right on, eh!

One Response to “Canada on How I Met Your Mother!”

  1. Robin | Farewell, Stranger March 7, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    Wasn’t that awesome? I figure if they’re going to make reference to Canada, tongue-in-cheek is fine. And that one especially was hilarious – loved all the stereotypical references. And Dave Coulier? So funny.

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

