How the goals you set shape your year.

3 Jan

Last year, my life was so different. I had a union job with a good pension and was waiting until my layoff date came around in February. I can remember vividly how scared I was and the fear I had for the future. I can remember putting the plan in motion for my return to school and I can remember trying to think ahead to this year and not having the slightest clue what to expect.

February 29 was my last day of work. Everyone said I would be happier once I got out of there and in some aspects they are right. Actually, in a lot of aspects they are right. While there were certain things about the job that I really enjoyed and will hold dear to me, now I can be completely honest with myself and admit that I wasn’t truly happy and it wasn’t a healthy environment to be in. I was in a rut, I was unfulfilled, and I was lacking confidence to do anything about it.

I started getting into this blog in late March, early April and because I was at home and had the time to commit to it, it was doing pretty well by the time June rolled around. June also brought summer and heat and we ended up spending a large portion of our summer at the lake and my focus slipped a bit. Results were seen immediately and I began to realize people were willing to commit to me as long as I was committed to them. So I made a pact to get back at it and stated a nice little schedule for the first two weeks of school and tried really hard to stick to it. Things heated up really quickly and I realized I needed to put my focus on schoolwork and things slipped again.

While on Christmas break, I had the time to sit at the computer and read and write and get back into the whole blogosphere and I have truly missed it. As you know already I joined the Blog Challenge and my posts are schedule already for the end of the week. I spent a large part of New Years Day reading a variety of bloggers recaps and roundups of the year. It was interesting to see what they had projected for their year and what suprises came and where everyone ended up. You can’t plan the future, but I really think that the goals they set for themselves put them on the path that eventually led them to where they are today.  And that’s really all we can do, set yourself on a path in the direction you want to be. Who knows what side trails you will find along the way.

One Response to “How the goals you set shape your year.”

  1. Chewylicious January 3, 2013 at 7:36 pm #

    Stopping through from a blog hop! I’m so happy that I ran into yah again! It’s so easy to get lost in all the crazy amount of bloggers out there! If I could comment on everyone I would but unfortunately that’s just not possible!

    Life is weird like that isn’t it….it just always takes you to different places and places you’d never thought you’d go. I have no idea what 2013 has in store for us but I’m sure it’s going to be great and just like you said we need to set those goals….just so we have at least something to focus on!

    PS. Would love for you to join my Tribe on Triberr (Chewylicious)! I think you’ll be a great fit! Find me on there and I’ll send you an invite! Looking forward to getting to know you better! xoxoxo

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

