Kellogg’s Christmas treats

18 Dec

Christmas time is upon us once again! When you have children, Christmas time means concerts, recitals, plays and class parties. We often get asked to bake cookies or send treats to the school for these various events, but with all the allergies these days its hard to know what to send anymore. This year I did what every mom probably did and searched pinterest for cookie decorating ideas good enough to send to school.

In the end, cookies are too much work for me. By the time I get the cookies made and baked, I’m done. I’m no longer up to the challenge of decorating. So I need something that whips together easy and quick and leaves me plenty of time to do what I love to do most. The decorating.

That’s what I love about Rice Krispie cake. The cake takes just minutes to put together and requires no baking. Let it sit just long enough to get out my decorating supplies and woolah! I’m ready to go. Any cookie cutter you have or cookie decorating idea you ‘re thinking can be applied to Rice Krispie cake. If decorating isn’t your thing, just shape into balls, place in a festive bag with some curly ribbon and it will be sure to impress. And again, it only took less than an hour from start to finish!

Photo Dec 11, 7 31 33 PM

After searching for ideas, I chose to try the snowmen and stockings and as you can see I think they turned out amazing.The snowmen turned out to be my favorite, not only because they were super simple in the end, but because they look super cute and impressive too. I thought the stockings would be really nice to personalize for individual children in a class, if you get that far.

Kellogg Canada recently launched its official Facebook page where you can share stories about cooking with your kids, find out information about the brands, recipes, coupons and promotions. Head on over to http://www.facebook.com/KelloggCanada and like their page for more information.

I don’t know many people who don’t know how to make Rice Krispie cake or love to eat it, but I’m going to post the recipe anyway. Easy to post and easy to make!!

Microwave one large bag of Marshmallows (400g, i like mine gooey) and 1/4 cup margarine for 3 minutes.

Stir to mix marshmallow with melted margarine. Add about 5-6 cups Rice Krispies and mix. Press into a well greased 9×13 pan and let sit.

Everything will be sticky so I use the margarine freely on my hands, the utensil for mixing and the pan. Enjoy!!

I’m part of the Kelloggers Network and I receive special perks as part of my affiliation with this group. The opinions on this blog are my own, nothing but my own.
2 Responses to “Kellogg’s Christmas treats”

  1. kjficker December 18, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    Try adding a teaspoon of vanilla, or a teaspoon of almond extract and some diced almonds with skor bits on top if you aren’t taking it to an event where you can’t have nuts. So good!

    • myjampackedlife December 19, 2012 at 7:41 am #

      the possibilities are endless…and thanks to pinterest i can not quit looking up more!

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

