Don’t mess with my sister!

24 Sep

Even though my older two kids are 8 and 6, we still lay with them at the end of the day before they go to sleep. Somedays I wonder if this is really necessary and when we will stop. Tonite I was reminded again why Im not in a hurry to stop.

I usually ask them to tell me one good thing about their day and one thing that maybe wasn’t so great. My son went first and was telling me about science class and how they are learning about roots and plants and he really likes it. He couldn’t think of one not so great idea so we moved on to his little sister. Her great story was dance class and hanging out with her friends, of course. Then she got all serious and told me that her not so great thing was at recess when a boy in her class stole her stuffed pony. To which J gets all serious and says, “oh yeah mom, i saw it and he was being so mean to her so i ran over there and got the pony back and yelled at him for doing that to her. I was so furious.”

It makes me so happy at the thought of him running to her rescue and sticking up for her like that. I happen to glance over at A as he’s telling the story and her face is beaming with pride. She was so proud of her brother for helping her.

I’ve said it many times to those who give me a hard time about laying down with them before sleep, but these are the moments when whole truths come out. I learn more about their everyday lives in those 5 minutes in the dark before bed than I do all day. Good and bad. And I wouldn’t give that up for anything.

9 Responses to “Don’t mess with my sister!”

  1. Sandy September 27, 2012 at 6:11 am #

    that is really cute!

  2. Michelle/Jefferson @ See Debt Run September 26, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

    People give you a hard time for being a good, caring mother? Weird! I love that you do this! I still snuggle with my 11-year-old, even though he probably wouldn’t want me telling anyone 😉
    -M

    • myjampackedlife September 27, 2012 at 8:00 am #

      They say it jokingly (maybe?) about laying with them at night. They think they are old enough to go to bed on their own. Whatever, like I said, those moments are invaluable. I often do wonder when we will stop though.

  3. bogofdebt September 25, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    So very sweet! I remember when I was young that my brothers and I would fight (like most siblings) but would bond agaisnt enemies. Yes, I could call my brother a twerp but no one else was allowed to!

  4. kjficker September 24, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Could be the hormones, but I just choked up reading this! So cute.

  5. Mo' Money Mo' Houses (@momoneymohouses) September 24, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

    Aww that’s so sweet!

  6. Teri September 24, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Doesn’t happen all that often in our house but when it does, it truly warms my heart!! Thanks for this great post.
    Teri

    • myjampackedlife September 24, 2012 at 9:30 pm #

      It doesn’t happen that often here to so when it does, it’s just like, yeah they do really love each other through all that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. September Link Love – Some Top Notch Posts By Some Top Notch Bloggers | MoMoneyMoHouses - August 29, 2013

    […] Don’t Mess With My Sister by My Jam Packed Life  […]

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

