Unsent letters to parent volunteers

11 Sep

Dear fellow parents of children in similar activities to mine:

Thank you for allowing me to once again have the opportunity to serve on yet another committee that will provide your children with an organized activity to participate in. It does indeed, give me great pleasure to volunteer a large portion of my free time to this particular organization so as to ensure that many of your children will benefit along with one of mine.

Please accept my apology for calling to inquire if there was any way you would be willing to help out. In my crazy, overworked and underslept head, I completely forgot how many “little kids” you had at home with you. As a parent of three myself, I should have known better than to assume someone with multiple kids would actually want to help in order to ensure these organizations stay up and running so our second and third are able to enjoy them as well.

I also realize that during that call, your home cooked meal and family supper was interrupted. Once again you will have to excuse myself as its a very rare and special occasion when I am able to sit down with my whole family to enjoy a home cooked meal during activity season. Between all the volunteer meetings and work, and driving (which by the way, yes I can certainly take your kid with me this week again, no problem),  I’ve been known to forget I have a family at all at home altogether, let alone remembering that they need to eat to survive!

I do appreciate though, you taking the time to call me at home during my few moments of family time in between activities, to express your concerns or comments about such and such activity. Not only that, I complelety appreciate your suggestions as to what I could be doing differently or what may work better next year. This is absolutely appreciated and I must apologize again for making the suggestion you come out to the next meeting as clearly this made you totally uncomfortable and led you to cut our conversation short so you could “get back to things on your end.”

I can completely understand why you aren’t able to discuss in person with me as I have yet to see you actually attend one of these functions with your child. But don’t worry, I completely understand how hard it is for you to get away and how hard it is for you to lug all those younger children around with only you to all watch over them all, while trying to watch your oldest actually participate in said activity. I’m beginning to realize what an injustice I have been doing to my own kids by taking them with me out of the house alone.

So while you are so busy preparing yet another 3 course meal that you and your infinite amount of kids will sit down to as a family before any of their nightly activities start, you can be sure my kids are enjoying their cereal eaten on the go once again.

16 Responses to “Unsent letters to parent volunteers”

  1. fabulouslyfrugirl September 12, 2012 at 7:41 pm #

    Wow! It’s such a shame when people don’t realize how much other people are caring for their own kids. 😦

  2. hollow tree ventures September 12, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Well said! I’m going to hire you to do all my communicating for me, since I can’t seem to interact with the other humans without one or all of us getting pi##ed off. 😉

    • myjampackedlife September 12, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      haha. i wish i could say those things out loud to the people that they are directed at. that would just be counterproductive so i rant on here. Felt good i must say. i may do i again

  3. seedebtrun September 12, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    Oh how I love this!! Remember Crystal…no good deed goes unpunished! My kids are also often stuffing their little faces with chicken nuggets or cereal because we have swim team, soccer, baseball, Cub Scouts, baby gymnastics, etc. It’s always something! I do try to cook dinner ahead of time, but as you know–there’s also a lot of activities in the morning/afternoon as well! We also have a “jampackedlife!” 🙂 Don’t worry about the selfish parents. If you don’t know you’re not the only person in the world by the time you’re in your 20’s, 30’s, 40’s….you’ll likely never learn. So don’t waste your breath. Just vent to us so we can laugh with you!
    -M

    • myjampackedlife September 12, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      i was loving the unsent letters i had been reading on so many other blogs i thought it might help to relieve some of the stress by writing my own. seems like people enjoy the sarcasm. i appreciate everyone is busy and deep down its something i enjoy doing and understand its not everyones thing to do. It still drives me crazy though.

  4. Teri September 12, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    OMG I just randomly clicked on this from YKIHAYHT’s new blog hop and boy am I glad I did!! This is effing BRILLIANT!! I can’t tell you how many times I said “yes” out loud while reading this. BRAVO on this, this is awesome and I’m MOST definitely sharing it and following you.

    Thanks for putting this out there and saying what many of us feel everytime we say we’ll happily volunteer to help.

    Teri
    Snarkfest

    • myjampackedlife September 12, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

      thanks so much. it felt good to get if off my chest before i really said something i would regret. sometimes writing it down is all I need to feel better…well until next time probably, but then I’ll write another. maybe it will wake someone up!

  5. bigalittleamom September 11, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    lol!! Love your sensitivity in dealing with these parents!! 😛

    • myjampackedlife September 11, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

      ya, i write passive aggressively on my blog where they probably won’t ever see it!! i wish i had to guts to say half of what goes on in my head to them directly!! Thanks for commenting by the way! i love new commenters!

  6. Sorry Kid Your mom Doesn't play well with others September 11, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    True, I used to volunteer all the time, so the parties and plan events and it was like you were asking them to birth a child without an epidural on your behalf. I help out but I stopped planning them, too many people didn’t like how I did it. I told them they could plan it themselves.

    • myjampackedlife September 11, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      it does get frustrating, i just try to remember its the kids that are benefiting and not listen to the complainers.

  7. Modest Money September 11, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    It’s a shame that some people just want to have their cake and eat it too. Volunteers rarely get the credit they deserve. It’s even worse when those volunteers have to put up with crap from people who are too selfish to volunteer themselves. Keep up the good wok volunteering Crystal!

    • myjampackedlife September 11, 2012 at 6:50 pm #

      thanks. it helps that I really enjoy doing it. i understand its not everyone’s thing, but you sometimes have to step outside your comfort zone and make sacrifices when you have kids.

  8. Melanie September 11, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    You nailed this one!! Love reading your blog!

    • myjampackedlife September 11, 2012 at 8:51 am #

      Yay you commented. The are so many who read and never comment and I love comments so thanks. It’s tiring doing it all, I guess it’s either in you or not to help. Which is fine, but don’t complain when you see something you don’t like and don’t expect me to ca about your opinion on the street.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Wrap Sept 14, 2012 « myJAMpackedlife - September 16, 2012

    […] I posted what for me, turned into the biggest post of my blogging career to date. It was an unsent letter to parents. I received so many comments, from new and old, and my Facebook page doubled the number of likes […]

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

