The groups that have formed in my class.

10 Sep

Well, three weeks in to school and groups are starting to form within the class. Its interesting really to watch how they are beginning to separate.

First we have the older gang, these one are smokers and look like they’ve lived a bit of life before deciding to turn things around. They likely group together because the majority are smokers so they probably hang out for smokes breaks together thus solidifying their bond.

Next we have the young fresh out of high school girls. They all look overwhelmed, still a bit shy, and not really sure of this whole new world around them. They are unsure how to relate to the others in the class and perhaps they lack the confidence to step outside their comfort zone and mingle with anyone else.

Since there are only a handful of men in the program, they seem to have conglomerated together and formed a bond because of that.

There are the mid-twenties girls. They have just moved in with a boyfriend and are just starting their lives as a couple. Some of them have worked in an industry for many years before deciding they need to do more than just show up for a job. They wear trendy fashions, their hair is very natural, little make up and very soft and politely spoken. They aren’t the smartest, persay, but they are dedicated to doing their very best.

There are also the early twenties girls who come to class with their hair nicely cut,colored and styled everyday. They also wear the latest fashion but in a more louder way. They like people to notice them. Interestingly enough, quite a few of these girls I have since learned, are the athletic ones in the group. Female football, volleyball, dance, even one who races stock cars. So much for the theory that involving them in sports will keep them from being to girlie….(serious, this is the mentality of someone I know).

There are a few who are very outspoken and like to make sure we know what they are thinking. They answer all the teachers questions, they joke with each other loudly enough for us all to hear that they’ve got something to say, and they finish all their assignments the day they are handed out.

Then of course,  you’ve always got the old balls. There are some who are obviously shy and way out of their comfort zone. There are the young high school girls who I think we probably pretty popular in high school, but probably because of their name, their sibling or the group they associated with. Not because of their personality. They are thrown out on their own and now they are lost and looking very timid and wondering why this is so hard.

There are the really socially awkward ones, the really nerdy ones and the “I’m here for one reason only” ones. There are the ones who are waiting till the classes break up and become a smaller group because that is more easy for them to navigate than this rather large group.

I guess no matter where we go, we are always searching for someone who is most like us. We all just want to fit in and belong. Its good to know that there is always a group out there for us to latch on to. Sitting back and observing, I can see similarities between them all and have interacted with a variety of people from different groups. Even though they are all very different, the common thread is that we are all nervous, all excited to meet new people and all excited to complete the journey together.

Groups shouldn’t define us, they just give us comfort in familiarity. Where would you fit in?

6 Responses to “The groups that have formed in my class.”

  1. eemusings September 14, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    I went to uni straight after high school, but I found myself gravitating more toward the older students while I was there.

  2. Mo' Money Mo' Houses (@momoneymohouses) September 10, 2012 at 10:34 pm #

    Oh how I sometimes miss being in university. I loved the chance to learn, meet new people, and see what group I would end up in. Of course since I ended up doing a specialty program with only 25 film students in it, we all kinda clumped together whatever class we were in, though I did enjoy the bigger lectures where I didn’t know anyone.

    • myjampackedlife September 11, 2012 at 8:50 am #

      Learning and new situations and learning new things is something I’m really enjoying at the moment. Once our class breaks up into its own we will have 20 of us, so I’m sure the groups will break down then.

  3. bogofdebt September 10, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

    I’ve always been a floater. I seem to fit into most groups without really picking one. In high school and college I’d always be with one group one day and a different one the next but did it without trying or being mean. You know, “only pretending to like a group or even worse, pretending to not like a group based on ‘status'”.

    • myjampackedlife September 11, 2012 at 8:48 am #

      That’s kind of where I am now. I haven’t found it difficult to have a discussion with any particular group but I haven’t settled into one either.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Wrap Sept 14, 2012 « myJAMpackedlife - September 16, 2012

    […] I posted my observations on groups that have formed within the […]

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

