School plans update

8 Jul

If you can believe it, I finally got the word that my funding is in place for school in the fall.
Last week I received a letter in the mail with the payment schedule outline. Tuition costs will be covered in full, daycare will 90% covered and travel costs should be approximately covered the same amount.
So, now the rest is up to me. I have completed 4 of the 5 classes that were eligible to be taken ahead of time and I am in the process of finishing up the fifth. Taking these classes ahead of time will greatly decrease my workload in the first month. The first two weeks actually will be very sporadic which will help with the transititon. As well, my kids don’t go back to school till after the September long weekend ( thank you provincial government for that), so it won’t take me away from them for full days until well after they have started school themselves.
I am racking my brain trying to think if there’s anyway to capitalize on all the miles I will be traveling over the next few months. Car wrapping was one option that I’ve read about, but so far I have been unable to find anywhere in my area that is need of that service. Could you imagine my car wrapped up in advertising? That would be crazy, but if I can make money driving, I’ll do it.
Whether or not anything like that happens, I will be one busy lady come August 20th. My time is going to be tight and any free time I have this year will be spent on my kids or extra schoolwork. My plans for blogging are to continue to provide insight into the financial challenges we are facing and write about issues I will face while trying to juggle school and raising a family.
Does anyone have any other ideas to capitalize on my mileage?

5 Responses to “School plans update”

  1. fromshoppingtosaving July 10, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

    You are so lucky that your education costs are covered. I just applied for a loan for my first year. It’s incredibly terrifying, but I think I’m ready for this! We’ll be in school together and I can’t wait to read more about your journey =)

    As for the miles, I’d suggest getting a credit card that has really good cash back or rewards on gas.

    • myjampackedlife July 10, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      I like that idea a lot actually. There will be a lot of costs that I can run through my card while racking up points. Maybe by the end I will have enough for a trip for graduation. Thanks for the tip.

  2. addvodka July 10, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Carpooling? That’s all I can think of. It’s great that you have your funding in place! Congrats!

    • myjampackedlife July 10, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

      Carpooling is hard since its such a long commute but I actually just found out another girl from town is going to be driving in and attending the same school so hopefully that will work out. Even if it’s just 3days a week, that will help.

  3. Modest Money July 9, 2012 at 11:31 pm #

    Congrats on the school funding Crystal. I have been considering going back to college, but it is rather intimidating, even without kids to take care of.

    As for ideas to capitalize on the mileage, there probably won’t be any existing companies that connect local businesses with drivers. The problem you’ll face is that many would rather have mostly city driving where the ads can be seen by more people. Perhaps you could pitch the idea to a few local businesses who would benefit the most from something like that.

    Or perhaps you could offer courier services between your town and where the college is. Maybe even post the service on craigslist and random people needing a ride might take you up on the offer.

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

