If money was no object, here is what I would do

5 Jul


I started this blog post on Sunday, July 2, so imagine how shocked I was today to read what Mo’Money, Mo’ Houses had written about. The exact same thing! This is not the fist time that something like this has happened either. It’s a little bit creepy, but a little bit comforting too. I guess we are really more alike than we realize.

Anyways, back to my original – or so I thought- thoughts.

As I was reading the newspaper this morning I came across an ad for the Lotto Max. As always when I see the figure up for grabs, I find myself wondering, what would I do if I won the lottery? Of course I would do the same ol’, same ol’ thing of paying off the mortgage and debts and helping family and probably donating a large chunk to charity. But when all that was said and done, if I didn’t have to worry about money and making a decent income every month, what would I really do?

Candy store

Candy store in downtown Halifax

photo by zerojay source http://flic.kr/p/7csV6t

Anyone who knows me well, knows I have a love of all things candy. I love the way candy smells, the colors of candy, the way it sounds, the feel of candy and the way candy makes me feel. When I was a little girl, I would often go to town from the farm with my Grandpa to get water. On the way home, we would stop by the candy store and he would let me pick out one candy and a soda pop. When I think of candy, I think of all the times in my life that were simpler, when you are just a kid and have nothing else to worry about. I see kids who are shopping for candy and love seeing the excitement on their faces as they look through all the rows and try to decide which one to buy. I love watching adults shop for candy too. They are the best because they are looking for that special candy from their childhood. One piece that will take them back to their youth and innocence for just a moment. Owning my own candy store with vintage candy and new age candy would be my dream come true. I have wanted to do that as far as I can remember.

Bakery

Bakery shop, St Marychurch precinct - geograph.org.uk - 1211012

© Copyright Joan Vaughan and licensed for reuse under this Creative Commons Licence

 A few years back a friend and I took a cake decorating class and for a brief while I actually made cakes for extra money. I was on my second maternity leave and I loved it. I even made one wedding cake. Tailoring cakes to others’ individual tastes and likes was so much fun. I loved seeing the look on people’s faces when they would come pick it up. Doing the wedding cake will always be a special memory for me. It was a lot of pressure to get it just right and being able to contribute to someone’s special day but it was such a privilege as well. I love to bake and I love to be creative so it was a good fit. Once the kids got older, it just became too difficult to do it with them around sticking their fingers into everything and playing with all the gadgets. I may pick this art up again one day, who knows.

Craft Store

Image: FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Again, because I love all things crafty, I think owning a craft store would be so much fun. In a small community like mine, you would get to know the customers quite well. You could hold classes and scrapbooking weekends and just be surrounded all the time by creativity. Unfortunately, my aunt and uncle owned a craft store in another smaller community, but it eventually became too hard to compete with the big box stores and they had to close it. For that reason, I could only do this job if I had unlimited money to pour into it.

These are the three things that come to mind when I think of winning the lottery. They are the type of things that I guess is what people are referring to when they say “live your passion”. If only the balls would align and come up with my numbers……….

5 Responses to “If money was no object, here is what I would do”

  1. Financial Independence July 6, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    Can I ask you a personal questions? All the ideas above do not involve sitting in the sun and enjoy yourself. They all benefiting to your financial independence. What is stopping you from trying any of them?

  2. Modest Money July 5, 2012 at 7:41 am #

    haha I have a bad sweet tooth too. That’s been the toughest thing for me to cut back on when I decided I had to give my liver a break to detox. As cool as it sounds to own a candy store, there’s no way I could be around so much temptation. I would get so fat and eat away all profits.

    The interesting thing about this post is that you don’t really mention any big splurges. It is more down to earth stuff just to keep yourself happy. I wouldn’t totally pass off the craft store idea. It might just need to be done in a different way than how your aunt and uncle ran it. You could use that as a base for offering scrapbooking services, possibly even online to random people. Or you could host crafts lessons or drop in nights. Or maybe some other online venture connected to it would work out.

    • myjampackedlife July 5, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      i have thought alot actually about the candy store but doing it both in shop and online. What worries me most is being so rural and smaller community, i wouldn’t be able to have that big of client base, but if i took it online…well maybe that would make it doable.
      i would have to set a limit for ourselves of what we were allowed to eat for sure. we love our candy so the kids might just eat all my profits away….

  3. addvodka July 5, 2012 at 7:18 am #

    Haha great minds think alike. Marissa from Thirty Six Months wrote about blogging anonymously this week too, as did I. It’s always entertaining.

    These are all great ideas! I love that you’d still work if you won the lottery.

    • myjampackedlife July 5, 2012 at 10:18 am #

      i never really thought about the fact that i would still work..hmm i guess because those things seem like so much fun, it wouldn’t be like work to me.

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

