June income update.

2 Jul

My June income total = $510.20

I did a couple of different things this month.

1. I placed quite a few items for sale on our local “buy and sell” page hoping to not only clean up a bit of clutter but also to make a few dollars. I sold 3 items for a total of $100. It was actually quite easy to do and will be posting more.

2. I was approached to scrapbook pictures for a neighbor who did not have the time to do it herself. Since I love to scrapbook, I said yes. I was unsure if I would enjoy scrapbooking others’ photos when I had no attachment whatsoever to them, but it became more about the page itself and not the pictures, so I found myself getting quite into it. It was a 12 page -12×12 album. I charged $5.00 per page plus the cost of the album itself was $15. They tipped me $5.00 for a total of $80.00.

3. The government also decided to review our income tax returns and discovered they owed up an extra $218 so that was wonderful of them! They must have known how badly we wanted to buy booze food for the lake.

4. Recyclables were taken in again $33.20.

5. I also sold a few items of the kids that they no longer play with for $70.

All in all, June was an OK month. The kids and school windup functions kept me fairly busy and left me little time for actual blogging. I’m still reading and I comment when I feel I have something worthwhile to contribute.

Im finding it very exciting and thrilling to come up with new ways of bringing in some extra money. My Gold Party Canada training is being worked out and soon I will be up and running and hopefully bringing in a little extra cash with that.

7 Responses to “June income update.”

  1. Robin | Farewell, Stranger July 3, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Nice work! And that scrapbooking idea is genius. What a neat way to make some money doing something you enjoy.

    • myjampackedlife July 3, 2012 at 6:41 pm #

      Yes it was fun. She actually asked me since she knew I did it for myself, but I am thinking maybe the is more people who need help

  2. See Debt Run (@seedebtrun) July 3, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    Nice on the extra $! We’re also attempting to sell some of the boys’ old toys, but it’s kind of maddening! I spent hundreds on this train table and all the accessories and brand-name Thomas toys…and the best offer we’ve received is 50 bucks. Pfft. 😦 We have a couple of other items up on craigslist as well, but it might just tick me off too much to consider it worthwhile. I’ll write it out later.
    -M

    • myjampackedlife July 3, 2012 at 2:01 pm #

      Defintely you never get back what you paid in the first place. But something is better than nothing. One of the items I sold was a vintage car my husband had bought for $170. We sold it for $70. It hurt but it was musts collecting dust and it was time for it to go. I’d keep trying on the train set, ou should be able to get more.

  3. Modest Money July 3, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    It sounds like you did a good job of bringing in some extra income. Have you considered offering the scrapbooking service regularly through craigslist or something? It would probably be an enjoyable way to regularly make some extra cash each month.

    • myjampackedlife July 3, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      i was actually thinking that same thing. Its something i enjoy doing and so many people say they just don’t have time for it or they aren’t good at it. so I think it may be a very good idea around here.

  4. Budget & the Beach July 3, 2012 at 8:39 am #

    That’s awesome! I’m going to need to come up with some ways to make extra money…and soon!

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

