Summer recipe share

20 Jun

With school ending next week and summer holidays fast approaching, I spent the better part of today preparing some food for the freezer, both for home and for at the lake.
There are two recipes that I am going to share with you because they are just too good not to.
The first recipe is our summer favorite. We only ever make it in the summer, although the lady that gave us the recipe makes it year round. It’s a pizza spread and I’m told it was very popular in the 70s. I had never heard of it before and after tasting just one bite, was so happy I had finally been introduced.
When we go camping, we use the spread to make pizza bush pies. That’s what we call them anyways. I know there are different names but basically they are sandwiches that you cook in the campfire. When cooked, it tastes like a grilled pepperoni and cheese pizza. I guarantee if you try this, you will love it too. It’s *that* good.

20120619-162738.jpg

Here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 stick of pepperoni I used Schneiders pepperoni 500 g roll
1- 907 g brick cheddar cheese,grated
1/2- 907 g brick mozzarella,grated
1 jar Heinz chili sauce. It looks like an old style glass ketchup bottle. Just use regular, not the hot and spicy.
3/4 c ketchup
1/2 cup water

Instructions:

Using a food processor, grind up the pepperoni till it is very fine and looks spreadable. Mix the ground up pepperoni and the next 5 ingredients together in a bowl with a spoon.
This will make a huge bowl of spread, so I divide it up into 3 containers and freeze individually. Take out and thaw as you need. Spread on buns, bagels, or any bread to make pizza buns and cook in oven until melted for those who aren’t campers.

The next recipe I am going to share is Chicken ranch burgers. Sorry I don’t have a picture to share, but I guarantee these look as good as they taste.

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground chicken
1 packet dry ranch dressing mix
1/4 c chopped pickled banana peppers (adjust to liking or leave out altogether)
3 chopped green onions
7 finely chopped mushrooms

Instructions:

Mix all ingredients together and form into patties.

The burgers are a healthy alternative to regular beef burgers and so full of flavor that they will please beef eaters anyday.

There you have my two favorite summer recipes. I hope you’ll try them, or at the very least, the pizza spread. We wait all year for it to be summer to make this spread and it is well worth the wait!!

What is your favorite summer recipe?

5 Responses to “Summer recipe share”

  1. Budget & the Beach June 24, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    I like really light things in the summer, so mostly I just eat a lot of salads and try to dress it up with interesting things. What I do want to try is grilling more. I’m a little scared of my own cooking so I’m afraid to try certain things.

    • myjampackedlife June 24, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

      BBQing has to be the easiest thing out there. Marinate the meat in the fridge all day and when you get home throw it on the grill and cook. Its fast, no clean up and tastes soo good. Don’t be afraid, it tastes good even if its burnt on the BBQ.

  2. fromshoppingtosaving June 22, 2012 at 2:33 pm #

    Ooooh these sound so good. I wonder if you can substitute the ketchup in the first recipe for tomato sauce instead? or Tomato paste mixed with tomato sauce? I’m not sure I like ketchup with my pepperoni haha.

    • myjampackedlife June 23, 2012 at 3:00 pm #

      Hah, I’ve never heard anyone say they don’t like ketchup with something…..especially meat of any kind. Give it a try, the tanginess from the ketchup and chili sauce is soo good.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. myJAMpackedlife - July 3, 2012

    […] our claim on them as well. Bush pies may or may not be Canadian but they are lake food. We enjoyed Pizza bush pies and egg sandwich bush […]

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

