Getting to know my fellow bloggers

16 Jun

All of us in the pf community are connected by our obvious interest in personal finance, but I got to thinking the other day, there must be more we have in common than just that. Of the past few weeks, I have been taking mental notes whenever I come accross other similarities between myself and the new friends I’ve made.

So here goes what I have learned in the past few weeks:
Canadian budget binder and myself both have families which we struggle to keep in check.
See Debt Run has 3 kids like myself and struggle with the issues of trying to raise a family within our means.
Money life and more is was in need of a smartphone just like myself, but not sure we really needed one. He has since gotten one and for a steal of a deal too!
Tackling Our Debt has periods of going MIA in the blogging world due to lack of things to say and new things to write about. I also suffer from this off and on so knowing she goes through it too takes some of the pressure off
Shopping to Savings and I are both returning to school in the fall.
Canadian Performers Money thinks I need a therapist, I don’t whole heartedly disagree.
Blonde on a budget is rocking the #pfworkouts and succeeding at losing weight. I also have lots a bit of weight and am continuing to get inspiration from this club.
My Alternate Life lives in Atlantic canada which is where I plan to retire. I’ve been out there a few times a few years back now, and I’ve never felt more at home as I do when I’m out there.
Modest Money and I do not share a love of all things Apple…..but I cross my fingers he’ll come around one day.
Andrea at Curiosity killed the blog gives great advice for all things basic about blogging which is great because I need all the help I can get with all things basic about blogging. She’s going to make me a new blog someday soon, she just doesn’t know that yet.
Daisy over at When Life Gives You Lemons and I both love Slacker radio.

These are a just a few of the things I’ve been able to remember from reading their posts and also things I’ve picked up from their comments on my posts. A little different approach to the usual blog roundups. Have a great weekend everyone!

Mentions for myJAMpackedlife this week included
The Free Financial Advisor

11 Responses to “Getting to know my fellow bloggers”

  1. fromshoppingtosaving June 18, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    Awwww.. LOVED this post!!!!!! I find myself finding similarities with so many bloggers too. We are such a tight knit community, you really end up knowing a lot about other people!

    • myjampackedlife June 18, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      i agree. Its more than just an article your reading, its about the person too. Glad you like it.

  2. TacklingOurDebt (@TacklingOurDebt) June 18, 2012 at 10:07 am #

    Love this post cuz I just learned so much more about you. I find it interesting when you say that you never felt more at home then you did when you were in Atlantic Canada. I know you mentioned that on one of my posts as well. I can relate to that feeling. When I moved to the UK ten years ago to work for a year, after being there for only a few days I really began feeling like I had found my home. I felt so comfortable. It was weird, but nice.

    • myjampackedlife June 18, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Its a hard thing to explain but just being in that atmosphere is so calming. Perhaps you will move back one day.

  3. See Debt Run (@seedebtrun) June 16, 2012 at 9:32 pm #

    Thanks for getting to know me! I look forward to getting to know you better as well. I hope your weekend is going well. We just confirmed that we are NOT a camping family tonight. 🙂

  4. AverageJoe June 16, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    When I started blogging I thought I had nothing in common with most bloggers. Now I feel exactly the opposite. It’s good to see that people share the same hopes, fears, dreams and needs that I do.

    • myjampackedlife June 17, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

      It seemed like that to me at first but then im would notice something they said and think, hey I like that too or that sounds like me. I suppose you can find a common thread between most people if you pay attention.

  5. Modest Money June 16, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    Awesome format for a link love post. It is pretty cool to see all the similarities that we share with different bloggers. It’s a big part of what keeps us coming back to each other’s blogs. As for Apple, sorry but until I win the lottery and have money to blow on extravagance I will happily support other brands.

    • myjampackedlife June 17, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

      Once you start to connect with others and find the similarities it makes you feel like you “know” them better I find. I fell like I can relate to those people and really work on getting to know them on a different level as for ou, if winning the lottery means you will buy apple, then I’ll cross my fingers for that too!! Have a good weekend MM

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beginning of Summer Blog Update | Modest Money - June 25, 2012

    […] Getting to know my fellow bloggers on My Jam Packed Life […]

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

