20 things I’ll miss now that kids are getting older

13 Jun

School buses in the fall

Tomorrow marks the end of another school year. With each year that passes, yes I’m sad that the kids are growing up, but there are also new things they outgrow each year and some of those things actually make me happy. While they necessarily haven’t outgrown each of these things, these are a few things that when they do, I will miss.

  1. Family bath time. As creepy as this sounds, when my kids were little we all piled in to warm up in winter.
  2. Family sleeping. I maybe shouldn’t have posted these two back to back cuz it makes us sound like some wierd and creepy hippy family, but we aren’t I promise. There is just nothing better than cuddling with sleeping kids.
  3. Driving them to activities. What am I gonna do with all that time.
  4. Piano recitals. No explanation necessary
  5. Laying with them at bedtime. This is the time I get all the juicy details of the day. True honest conversation. I will miss this the most.
  6. Story time.
  7. Going to pool. I hate swimming so this is a huge sacrifice for me to make for them. But they LOVE it so I do it. When they are older, I probably will never swim again.
  8. Watching them try something new for first time. Innocence and curiosity at its best.
  9. Making supper and being surprised someone likes it. Seriously, doesn’t happen often around here. Fussy eaters!
  10. Treehouse tv. Perhaps this should be on my not miss list, but its background noise and Im used to it now.
  11. Pushing a stroller
  12. Playing in the rain
  13. Listening to school day stories
  14. Tobogganing
  15. Shopping for kids clothes. So much more fun than shopping for myself.
  16. Making snicker doodle cookies. OK I probably still will do this, have to bribe them to come see me somehow.
  17. Hockey games.
  18. Planning birthday parties. Planning, not HAVING, birthday parties. They never go as smoothly in reality as they do on paper.
  19. Looking forward to a night alone. All our nights will be alone……..
  20. Hugs and Kisses. Especially chubby baby cheek kisses.

Things I won’t miss

  1. Car seats.
  2. Bedtime snack time? I think some kid thought this up as a way to extend bedtime, because honestly, who needs a snack 1 hour after supper is over. New parents, never start this.
  3. Whining. No explanation needed.
  4. The time it takes to convince kids to get into the car for a 5 minute trip to the store. Could’ve went there and back twice half the time before they even get in.
  5. Nintendo wii. Not so much the wii itself, but the time I spend saying, “you’re time is up, get off the wii”
  6. Lack of strong medication for children under 6. Hello drowsy formula!!
  7. Flushing the toilet for other people. Every. Time.
  8. Interrupted sleep
  9. Messes. Food, toys, clothes, any kind really.
  10. The anxiety of family photos. They will cooperate one day, right?
While my list of positives far outweigh the negatives, it’s only because I started the list thinking of things I’ll miss and had to move some of the things to the things I won’t miss list after some thought. Of course, I will miss every little detail of having little ones…….someday.
2 Responses to “20 things I’ll miss now that kids are getting older”

  1. See Debt Run (@seedebtrun) June 29, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Such a sweet list, Crystal! It made me a little weepy. I know I will go crazy when my kids are all too big to hold….so I’ll just keep having kids! Good idea? 🙂
    -M

    • myjampackedlife June 29, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      lol. not for me, but if you can handle it..go for it. the list of things i won’t miss is starting to outshine the things I will miss unfortunately.

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

