My blogging apps

6 Jun

There are a few apps that I use regularly for purposes associated with blogging and I thought I might share them today. I basically live on my IPad as of late and I find the apps to be very useful for me.
Here we go:
1. WordPress – I have heard people complain about using this on their Ipad and while I won’t disagree that it can be challenging what I really like about it is I can quickly go in and approve comments and check out the stats. It also allows me to write on the go, and even if it is plagued with spelling errors, I can easily edit from my computer when I get home. Of course, the scheduling posts feature is still somewhat of an enigma for me on this thing!

2. Byline – Its basically my google reader in an app. It collects all the new content and allows me to easily see who’s posted and who needs to be read. I can also save posts to refer to later, which is helpful since it can be challenging to remember who wrote what when I want to refer to them in a later post.

3. Twitter – Same as regular twitter only this app doesn’t let me expand converstations. Its great for opening up links though as it opens them in another window just off to the side so I can still scroll through tweets while it loads or while reading.

4. Dragon Dictation – I love this app. I use it to sometimes capture thoughts that I later convert to a post, but I also love it for non related blogging uses such as telling it my grocery list and having it write it out for me.

5. Hootsuite – twitter again basically, but this is great when I’m attending a twitter party or following a specific hashtag. It allows me to see when I’m mentioned at the same time as viewing real time tweets.

6. Anayltics – I have the app, but unfortunately because I’m on wordpress.com, I can’t run it. But I keep it because one day I know I will use it.

7. Slacker – This is my all time favorite music app. It allows you to listen to virtually any song you want at any time. This eliminates my need for ever downloading music ever again. When I type in a song I want to listen to, it will play a station with songs tailored to my request. Any time, anywhere I can listen to whatever I want. And when I’m blogging, i like to have some background noise.

Pictures for my posts is one thing that I’m always looking for and although I use pinterest, mainly because its the only place I’ve figured out how to do that so far, I’d love to hear suggestions on where else I can find free pictures.

11 Responses to “My blogging apps”

  1. AverageJoe June 7, 2012 at 12:23 pm #

    To add to Kathryn’s suggestion. If you just go straight to Creative Commons, you’ll be able to choose between Flickr, Google pics, and others for free pics. Awesome place for those.

    I need to switch to a blog reader. I say that every day…and never do. 🙂

    • myjampackedlife June 7, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      i said that for a long time too mainly because i knew it was going to take some time, and it did. But it was worth it. it has made following all the blogs i enjoy so much easier in the end. thanks for the picture tip as well. so glad i found that all out before i was before a judge!!

  2. Kathryn June 7, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Be careful with pictures from Pinterest; in some cases the authors retain the copyrights to those pictures. At the very least, make sure that they link back to the original pin and that the original pin leads back to the original picture online. At best, don’t use any picture that the photographer hasn’t given you permission to use. A copyright lawsuit is something NO momma needs!

    Pictures you CAN use without worry can be found here:

    http://www.rgbstock.com/

    and here:

    http://www.flickr.com/creativecommons/

    The flicr Creative Commons divides the pictures by the way that they’re licensed; Attribution photos need to mention the photographer and link back to the source, Noncommercial can be used without a link as long as you’re not using it for profit (i.e. selling prints of the picture to others). Both are great options when you need photos for your blog.

    Hope this helps! 🙂

  3. Modest Money June 6, 2012 at 8:02 am #

    Yet another post that has got me itching to get either a tablet computer or a smart phone. Now that I’m working again it’s just a matter of time before I give in. I do like the thought of being able to take either device with me outdoors somewhere and get some work done out in the sun.

    • myjampackedlife June 6, 2012 at 8:37 am #

      I absolutely love my iPad. It went dead the other nite and I was disappointed because I wanted to check my email. Then I remembered I had a real computer I could use too!!!

      • Modest Money June 8, 2012 at 12:58 pm #

        lol I guess you really are hooked on using your ipad. Maybe I’ll give in and get a cheaper tablet sometime soon.

      • myjampackedlife June 10, 2012 at 10:04 am #

        no, you must never cheap out on the ipad!! i didn’t hear you say that.

      • Modest Money June 12, 2012 at 12:31 am #

        Oh I don’t consider it cheaping out at all. I just personally think Apple products in general are far overpriced. For what I could get from a manufacturer like Acer or Toshiba for a fraction of the price, Apple just doesn’t make sense to me. The only Apple product I own is an old ipod. Not a big fan.

  4. addvodka June 6, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    I wrote a comment and it dissapeared – woops.

    Anyway, I didn’t know Slacker could do that! I just discovered it last week but I didn’t know you could look up songs!

    • myjampackedlife June 6, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      Slacker is great. I was never much of a music downloaded, so this is so nice.

  5. Daisy June 6, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    I didn’t know Slacker could do that – i’ll have to look into it. Great app suggestions!

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

