Social Media Progress May Update

28 May

Source: scavengers81.blogspot.com via Gregory on Pinterest

If you will recall, last month I was feeling like I was floating in space with all this information about blogs and all the social media options and clutter. Well, you’ll be happy to know that I have spent some time and I have gathered all the blogs that I wish to follow on my google reader. This has been a life saver and I’m not sure why I shied away from it for so long. I love that it lets me know when there is new content and therefore I don’t have to check every one individually. When I find a post that I think I can refer to or I need to save and read more thoroughly, I can star it and it keeps it there for me to read again. Loving google reader!!

After doing all that I was thrilled when Curiosity Killed the Blog wrote a post about what exactly RSS is and how to use it to your advantage. I just love how she breaks down all the terminology and starts in real simple terms that I need. Although Im still confused why sometimes it gives me the option to add to google reader and other times it just opens the posts in a reader style but doesn’t add it to my reader.

Twitter is also getting cleaned up a bit. I’ve discovered a few new ways to better utilize whats going on on twitter without having to scroll down for hours. First off, I used Tweetgrid when I was taking part in a recent twitter party and I thought that was great. Next off, I decided to try out Houtsuite, which turned out to be very similar to Tweetgrid. I like both of these options as they break the screens up into different sections of general tweets, mentions, and DMs (direct messages). I’ve also took the time to organize all my followers according to lists. Now when I want to see whats going on in the PF community, i just go to that list, celebs have their own list and then my mommy bloggers have another, friends another.

I read alot about blog “carnivals” and this is my June mission to figure out what the heck they are and how you participate in them. I love carnivals in real life, so Im sure I would love carnivals in not so real life too.

I am working on a submission to enter into a yakezie writing contest where the winnings are to be used for education. Well, who needs money for education more than me right now!

I’ve also entered into a reviewing opportunity through MomCentral Canada and another through PTPA Media. Its only for toilet paper and shampoo, but hey, free is free no matter what it, right? And I’ve got to start somewhere. I would love to be selected and start doing some reviews as well.

So based on a few of those areas I want to develop, I am also thinking at the end of June to switch from my free hosting to WordPress.org and really customiziong and personalizing my site. That would allow me to run google analytics as well. Well, that and many other plug-ins that I keep hearing about too. Not to mention the opportunity for some advertising as well.

I would love to hear other suggestions from those of you who are more knowledgable in the social media world. What else do I need to learn about or what should I be doing differently?

11 Responses to “Social Media Progress May Update”

  1. erika (fromshoppingtosaving) May 29, 2012 at 7:59 pm #

    Awesome stuff!! I think the hugest thing for me was getting a twitter and interacting with all the bloggers! It really gets your name out there and you become friends with everyone too who will help promote your posts! Also as others have said, just write good content and followers will come 🙂

    If you need any help let me know as well! I remember having my blog and I would only comment on 10 blogs or so, and I would never promote my posts. I wrote in my blog for over a year before joining Yakezie and really getting involved in my blog. It’s changed my whole outlook on blogging and I like to provide quality content now instead of just random rants haha.

    • myjampackedlife May 29, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

      thats kinda what im getting the feeling too. twitter is the place to be. I just got my facebook page up and running so feel free to like that too!

  2. yourlifeforless May 29, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    I love Google Reader. I’ve been using it for years to follow my favorite blogs. It saves me from having to bookmark every page and guess when there are new posts.

    I recently started using Twitter as well, so I’m figuring it all out. What I’ve been doing is promoting other blogger’s posts and staying active in the Twitter community. Basically, it comes down to offering great content, and the followers will come.

    • myjampackedlife May 29, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      yay a new commentor!! welcome and thanks. Its all so overwhelming when you first start. 6 months ago i knew nothing about blogging and twitter or anything. Im so happy i’ve had the chance to learn and will definitely continue to grow. I try to be active on twitter as well and comment and repost for others as well. There are so many great bloggers out there.

  3. TacklingOurDebt (@TacklingOurDebt) May 29, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    Congrats on your progress! I know how overwhelming it can all feel, but you are learning so much.

    I’d be happy to help you with figuring out carnivals, where to find them and how to submit to them. As well if you have any questions about Yakezie I can help you. Good luck with switching to wordpress.org. Hope it works out really well for you 🙂

    • myjampackedlife May 29, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      thanks. I’ve been spending alot of the day today researching what all that entails and Im scared now! i don’t want to lose everything or know too little before i switch to self hosted. who is your host if i can ask that? is that taboo??? I just don’t want to miss out on advertising because im not self hosted. There are so many opportunities out there for that.

  4. Modest Money May 28, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    Awesome to hear that you are learning so much Crystal! I was a little hesitant to start using rss feeds too, but it really is a huge time saver and makes your blog reading/commenting so much more efficient.

    Blog carnivals are very easy to learn the ins and outs of, but is a very worthwhile strategy to use. Some people pay someone to submit their posts each week, but personally I just take the 10-15 minutes each week to do it myself.

    I’m still figuring out social media myself, but it just seems to be a matter of staying active, promoting other bloggers and finding ways to get your blog name/url in front of more people. Feel free to e-mail me if you have any questions though. I’m always happy to help.

    • myjampackedlife May 29, 2012 at 8:01 am #

      OOh great, now Im really excited to check out blog carnivals. Sounds interesting. I also want to learn more about yakezie and perhaps look into becoming a member of that. But right now my main goal i think it to switch over to wordpress.org. I think i will be able to do so much more that way. Thanks for the offer, i may just take you up on it before making the switch.

      • Modest Money May 29, 2012 at 8:11 am #

        Yes definitely switch over to self hosted wordpress. Everyone who makes the move is always very glad they did it. You suddenly become free to do pretty much whatever you want with your blog.

        As for yakezie, I admit I’m not a big fan, but it is quite helpful for some people. I just don’t like all their little rules and how it is based around making money for the network owner. Personally I was able to build up my blog quite quickly without ever becoming a challenge member, but I did have plenty of existing marketing and website management experience.

      • myjampackedlife May 29, 2012 at 2:22 pm #

        I really want to switch over now after looking more into it. Missing out on so much opportunity. good to know about yakezie, I’ll keep it in mind when i get around to all that. I did find some blog carnivals that i don’t think we put on by them so maybe i’ll just start with that.

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

