Hi ho, Hi shmo…

17 May

Well, my hi ho, hi ho didn’t last too long before I found a kink. In the last portion of the previous post, I mentioned that all I had to do was contact my EI personel and secure the funding. Well, this turned out to be not as easy as making a phone call. I emailed her and asked her where we go from here and she replied she had set up a meeting to fill out paperwork before funding can be arranged. So, off i go to make the hour drive, and within 2 minutes of our meeting, am told I probably won’t qualify for funding since I already have “marketable skills”. Well, that was a shocker! Keep in mind, that I have been in contact with this woman for 8 months prior to this discussing and going through the steps needed. Not once in that time, did she mention that fact to me. It appeared she never even took the time to review my history as she would have noted all my previous education and work experience then. If that was a problem, she should have informed me of that then, and perhaps my plan may have been different.

Frustrated, I left. I sat in my truck and cried. How could I come this far and now have it all fall apart, how could this be happening? I was devastated. I took a cue from a fellow blogger who wrote about not taking no for an answer and decided there has to be more to it than that. I felt seriously mislead and brushed off. I decided to call her supervisor and get his feedback on the situation. Thankfully, when I finally did connect with him, he agreed that the normal steps hadn’t been followed and after listening to my situation, agreed there is a good possibility there will be some resources available to me. He mailed me out all the paperwork that i had driven in the previous day to fill out but was never given. I have to fill them out and return and we can proceed from there.

This whole process is a complicated and frustrating one to say the least. When this dust settles, i think it may become a bit of a post series, but for now, Im learning slowly to not accept the first answer someone is giving me. I really feel like they try to discourage you as much as possible to weed out the ones who are genuinely serious.

Another option has recently been introduced to me as well. Also inspired by my personal finance community, I’ve decided to look at options of bringing in extra money on the side. I posted about my meeting with a group of women and how they inspired me. This was in conjunction with the gold party sk review that I did as well. I have decided to sign up to be an agent with that party. I figure its best to keep my options open at this time as I have so many balls up in the air, if one falls, so do all the others. I don’t really know how aggressively I will pursue this or if it will just become a way to earn a little on the side, but thats ok. I don’t have to decide that right now, I  just have to be open to wherever it takes me.

So you see, on one hand, I’ve got school, (if all the pieces come together). I can take the time and retrain and find traditional employment with a decent salary. On the other hand, I can actively pursue the world of working for yourself and being your own boss. I just don’t know how to choose. My head and logistics tell me to go to school, get educated and employable. Work and earn good money. But, my heart is telling me to pursue the other option. Its always been a dream of mine to own my own business, work for myself, and have a flexible work schedule to allow me time with my kids. Which do I follow, my head or my heart? Can I do both, thus securing a backup plan if my hearts desire doesn’t pan out? Or will I not give it all my heart if I’m distracted with school? If I was 10 years younger and 3 kids shorter, I know what my answer would be, but unfortunately, I am older. Older than most of the personal finance community bloggers and I do have 3 kids to worry about. Will I be unhappy in this new profession? No, I don’t think so. I am really enjoying the classes that are part of the program and I get a huge sense of accomplishment and pride in myself with each one I complete. I’ve worked as a lab tech for 13 years and its not something I detest. And they make decent money. Which, apparently helps when you are trying to reach financial freedom.

Im very much not an “all your eggs in one basket” type of person. Never have been and never will be. I like back up plans and back up plans for my back up plans. I plan, I prepare. One of my favorite quotes is “A failure to plan is a plan to fail”. I wish I could throw caution to the wind and forget about everything, (wouldn’t that be nice for a change?) But the reality is, I can’t. And not just because of my kids and that responsibility, it’s just not something I’d be comfortable with in any situation.

For now, I will pursue the education route as aggressively as I can and see where it takes me. I have some work to do on my part for the paperwork to be completed. I will also send out an email to sign up for the agent position as well.

I told my friend the other day, my life in 5 years will look nothing like what it did 6 months ago. “Isn’t that exciting?” she said. Yeah, I guess it is.

7 Responses to “Hi ho, Hi shmo…”

  1. AverageJoe May 21, 2012 at 1:44 pm #

    I was 41 when I decided to sell my business and begin writing. Changing at an older age than most can be depressing sometimes, but you also have life experience to draw on that others don’t. A recent study showed that older people returning to school get higher grades and graduate more quickly. They know why they’re in school and have a wealth of information to draw from.

    One mentor of mine said that anything worth pursuing will have some serious roadblocks in front of it. I’m glad you aren’t letting the roadblocks discourage you from your dream.

    • myjampackedlife May 21, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      That’s an awesome comment. I do feel I have an advantage with the experience behind me so I have no doubt I will be more focused then some. I’m there for one reason this time. I’ve already done the making friends and socializing thing so this time is about learning and getting ready to return to work

  2. TacklingOurDebt (@TacklingOurDebt) May 18, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

    You have a lot to think about. If going back to school will assist you in getting back into the work force and making the money you need to support your family then I wish you all the best in securing financing.

    • myjampackedlife May 18, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

      Yes it is a lot to think about indeed. Thanks for the support!

    • myjampackedlife May 21, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

      thanks for the support. i should know within next couple of weeks and until then will be on pins and needles.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Circle of Friends – May 18 – The Long Weekend Edition | yuonnediary - June 16, 2012

    […] Check out the newest developments over at MYJAMPACKEDLIFE and how she followed Erika’s advice and didn’t take no for an answer – Hi ho, Hi shmo… […]

  2. Friday’s Circle of Friends – May 18 – The Long Weekend Edition « jessefurgos3 - May 30, 2012

    […] Check out the newest developments over at MYJAMPACKEDLIFE and how she followed Erika’s advice and didn’t take no for an answer – Hi ho, Hi shmo… […]

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

