Hi Ho, Hi ho, its off to school I go

15 May

Yup!! That’s right. I have officially been a offered a seat in the Combined Laboratory and X-ray Technician course starting in the fall of 2012. I will train to work in hospital labs and do Xrays as well.

I went to the post office that Monday morning thinking I’d get the mail early in the week and then I would not have to go again till the end of the week. I knew the admissions letters would be coming out sometime that week and was trying to avoid it as long as I could. Well, imagine my surprise when the letter was there that Monday morning. I knew before I even opened it that it was an acceptance letter. It was way to big of a package just to be telling me no. That would only take a one page letter, folded and stuffed inside a regular envelope. It took me about 2 hours before i could officially open it. I have been working towards entrance to this program for a little over a year now and even though i suspected it was a yes, I just wasn’t ready to face it if it wasn’t.

I sat on the news for a couple of days before I told anyone. Even now, if people directly ask me if I have heard anything yet, I will tell them, but I don’t just come out and tell them. I’m not quite sure why this is. I suspect it comes from the fear and nervousness I am feeling now that it is real. I have already lost sleep trying to plan ahead for this. My biggest concern is the traveling an hour each way to school and the time that I will be away from my kids. I know in my heart, that if i want to get a decent paying job in the area I live, I have no choice but to retrain. The opportunity for retraining at no cost to myself due to the layoff is also another reason why I feel I should take advantage of it at this time. I may never get a chance to have further education funded so why not go for it now. Im going to be the oldest one in the program Im sure of that, but Im not too old to change careers. If i wait 10 years, I may feel I am at that point. It will be a quick 18 months and then we can get back on our feet and reclaim our footing on our path to financial freedom.

I’ve written before how I prepared for the lay off, my next goal is to not waste the progress that we’ve been able to make up to this point. I don’t expect to get any further ahead while going through this transition but I do expect we won’t get any further in debt because of it either. I realize that maybe I am setting a lofty goal with that expectation, however, I feel we have enough in savings, my husband is still working and we have that source of income, in addition to that I will be receiving EI benefits in a few months. We have about 4 months where we have only the one income. We are entering month number 3 and I am very happy to report that we have only tapped into about $700 from our savings. We have found other ways to cut back on spending, I am keeping a close eye on where the money is going.

So now I have some work to do this week. I have to contact my Employment Insurance caseworker and see what steps I need to do for her to secure the funding for school, daycare and travel. I just need a day to let this sink in and allow myself to accept the reality of this situation. Sure, I’ve made tentative plans for this for quite some time, but until you get that letter, I just couldn’t let myself whole heartedly believe in it, in case it never worked out.

6 Responses to “Hi Ho, Hi ho, its off to school I go”

  1. Modest Money May 16, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    Congrats on the awesome news Crystal! You must’ve been so excited reading that acceptance letter. I’m getting close to the same point in my career where I may need to retrain for something else. It’s a tough decision to make and I don’t have kids to think about. Actually maybe having kids would give me the extra motivation to take the plunge. It would be tough to be away from them for so long each day. At least it’s just 18 months and not years. Good luck!

  2. AverageJoe May 15, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Congratulations! I know about not sleeping after what seems like good news. Is it all the change at one time? I’m not sure…maybe it’s the fact that you’re staring at a lot of “new” in a short amount of time. Still…it’s great news.

    • myjampackedlife May 15, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

      thanks. it really is great news. Im excited, just nervous about returning to school!

  3. fromshoppingtosaving May 15, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

    I feel like we were experiencing the same feelings!! I actually got a rejection letter from my top choice for law school and was devastated. I couldn’t even think properly since I thought I would be admitted for sure. I ended up getting accepted to another school which happened to be in my hometown. When I received the acceptance package, I didn’t know what to think or how to react. It just seemed so surreal, but it was definitely a great feeling! You must be feeling extremely happy 🙂

    It’s hard but I understand how you sit on the news but only tell people if they ask. I’ve been doing the same. I’m not sure why, maybe I don’t want to brag… but it is a great feeling. I’m also in the same stage of planning right now..it’s scary and exciting but we’re doing it! 🙂 Follow your dreams!

    • myjampackedlife May 15, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

      i think until all the pieces are in place i just don’t want to get my hopes up. Im very excited and looking forward to it, so i really hope it works out. Congrats to you as well. Busy years ahead of us!!

    • myjampackedlife May 21, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      Thats pretty much why i didn’t want to share too early, just in case. im glad you got into another school and are happy with that too. They say everything happens for a reason so there must be some reason for you to be at that school. I just want to make sure all the pieces are in place before i get everyone too excited. Im really nervous about the funding coming through since it asks on the forms for your savings account balance. Never did i imagine that would be used against me!lol. scary times indeed but we have this whole online community to reach out to now so i think thats going to be a lifeline for me.

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

