Stepping out of my element leads to a powerful experience

9 May

Source: google.com via Lori on Pinterest

Last Thursday night I attended a launch party with a bunch of people I dont know. Thats right, I went to an event, alone, in a room full of people I don’t know.

Well,I did know one, but that’s it. I almost didn’t make it. I made my husband drive around the block twice while I talked myself into going in. Finally he stopped, I got out and peered in the window. I looked back at him, wanting to just get back in and drive away, yet i just knew I had to do this because if i didn’t, i would regret it. I forced myself to walk in. Thankfully, the first person i saw was the one person I knew. She greeted me and was thrilled that I could make it and I felt a little more at ease. She introduced me to a couple of the ladies in the room and I listened to their conversations. I didn’t say much at first, I just listened.

I was instantly mesmoried and captivated. These women had so much energy and passion about whatever it was they were doing in life. They were all so different, but the one common thread was that each one had made her own success story and carved out their own path in life. Being around them made me want to be them, I just wanted to stay in their presence and feel their creative and positive energy.

It was time for introductions and I wanted to turn and run so badly. No. Please, please skip me, I was thinking. I listened their introductions, one after another, as they talked with such enthusiasm and gusto. They had so much pride for all they had achieved in their life. The whole time my mind is scrambling, what am I gonna say about myself? I have nothing to say. Im boring, I just work for a living. Punching the proverbial time clock. Thats it. Not that that doesn’t make a person successful or inspiring, but I certainly have never felt that energized by my work.

My turn came. I said my name and why I was there and then I stopped. I was going to tell them what i did for a living but before i could, my friend nudged me to talk about the blog. One of the ladies said, “oh yeah, I read an article you wrote. You’re a great writer”. I thought she was confused, it couldn’t be me. Yes she said, it was you. Really? I thought.

I love writing and it has been extremely cathartic for me at this point in my life. Because of it, i’ve found new connections, I’ve rekindled some old connections and I feel like I’ve found somewhere I can go and be my own person. I’m venturing out on my own to someplace where not many I know, have any idea it even exists. Everyday I’m learning something new all on my own. I’m teaching myself how to do things a year ago, I had never even heard of. It’s all consuming to me right now. It has been a really long time since I’ve felt this excitement and pure lust about something, like I do about my blog.

At that moment I was extremely proud and honored to hear her say that. It was truly inspiring to be surrounded by these type of women. Will I ever be as confident as them, probably not, but surrounding yourself with people who are that full of energy and excitement is contagious. I left feeling like I could conquer the world!!! When my husband came to pick me up, I told him how wonderful it was to be in that room, that I had met some amazing ladies tonite and how happy I was that I had forced myself to go in.

Taking the first step is always the hardest. I have no other choice than to be taking this uncomfortable path that I’m on right now, but if I surround myself with like minded and motivating people who are going it the same direction as I want to be, then where I end up will be the right place for me.

I had initially I written the majority of this post immediately after leaving that party. I had it scheduled to post the following Monday morning. The day after writing it, however, I came accross a blogpost from the friend that had invited me to the party. She had just received a book to review from one of her idols, Arlene Dickinson. She talked about the changes that have happened in her life recently and attributed that to the amazing, successful women she has chosen to surround herself with. They have all played a part in shaping her views and shaping the path that she is currently following.

I found it so ironic that the same thing I was feeling from meeting those women for the first time, was the same thing they were feeling, seeing each other time after time. Its no wonder those women are all successful powerhouses in their own right, they push each other to go further and strive for more.

I hope one day to be half as successful as those women that i was lucky enough to meet that night (well, ok, I wish for ALL their success and more!!) but while I may not ever achieve that, thats ok too. I just want to write, share my stories and take pleasure in the stories of others.

I was out of my element that night but I am proud of myself for taking that step and going out on my own. No matter how uncomfortable things are, those are the things I want to do. No one can do this for me, and for the first time, I don’t want anyone to. I want to be the one who reaps all the rewards when the dust settles.

You can find her full post here along with the review of the book.

7 Responses to “Stepping out of my element leads to a powerful experience”

  1. eemusings May 14, 2012 at 4:58 pm #

    Going out to events, especially where I’m a stranger, is the most nerveracking thing! Good on ya for facing the fear (and while I got a taxi there and couldn’t ask him to drive around and around the block, and was late anyway, definitely needed the time to steel himself and talk myself up for it).

    I am disappointed in myself for NOT introducing to a couple of people I recognised from their pictures online because I was too paranoid that I’d got it wrong and it wasn’t really them. Ah well. One thing at a time.

  2. AverageJoe May 11, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    Great quote at the top. This proves to me again the power of surrounding yourself with confident, successful people. It’s contagious.

    Thanks for writing this story.

    • myjampackedlife May 11, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      it really is contagious. the people you surround yourself with say alot about who you are as a person too. thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. TacklingOurDebt (@TacklingOurDebt) May 10, 2012 at 4:22 pm #

    Sounds like you were invited to meet a great group of women. Do they get together on a regular basis?

    I definitely understand not wanting to go to the meeting. I would have been the exact same way. Good for you for going and having a good time.

    • myjampackedlife May 10, 2012 at 5:56 pm #

      It was actually a business event and they are all friends outside of that. Its funny when i told someone this story, they said they weren’t suprised at all that i would do that. Sometimes who we are and who others think we are don’t always match up. Sometimes in a good way and sometimes maybe not so good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Friday’s Circle of Friends – May 11 « Agueda Trundy Saga - June 15, 2012

    […] Stepping out of my element leads to a powerful experience – How do you feel when you attend an event on your own knowing that you will only know one person at the event? […]

  2. Hi ho, Hi shmo… « myJAMpackedlife - May 17, 2012

    […] options of bringing in extra money on the side. I posted about my meeting with a group of women and how they inspired me. This was in conjunction with the gold party sk review that I did as well. I have decided to sign […]

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

