The secret to learning the basics of blogging

1 May

I am so I love with blogging!!! I know I’ve said that before, but this just feels so right for me and I could not be happier I finally got over my fear and decided to try it.

I’ve spent spent so many hours these past weeks reading and trying new things related to my blog. I’ve gotten some new buttons in the sidebar (after about 2 hours of trying mind you), got a video up of my weekend with my daughter, and most importantly of al,l I have discovered THE best website that I have been needing right from the start.

It all started when I came accross this tweet:

Remember when I posted how excited I was to have discovered the “read more” option for my posts? Well, I after reading her thoughts here about the reasons why i shouldn’t be doing that, I came to realize that maybe that wasn’t the best choice for me. I was surprised because I thought that was great feature to be using to get people to come to my blog. Well, I guess people don’t like to have to go to each blog individually so allowing the full post to show up on the feeds will allow them to still read your full content if they haven’t got the time to get directly to your sight. Hopefully your content will be enough to draw them in and you won’t have to use trickery. Done. I’ve switched back.

This blog is amazing because I have been looking for quite awhile for a place that broke down blogging into the very basics for beginners like me. When I first started and searched for tips on getting my blog started there was lots of informations about domains, self hosting, SEO optimization, plug-ins, etc.  That’s great. I’m sure this info will be very  useful, I just don’t have a clue what the heck it is or what it all that means. I needed someone to start at the very beginning. If you are a newbie to all social media like me, this is the blog for you.

The blog is called www.curiositykilledtheblog.com and I ab-so-lute-ly love it. I have learned so much in the past 3 days since I’ve found this site. More than I’ve learned in the 3 months since I have been doing this on my own. Keep in mind, that 3 months ago, I barely new what social media even meant much less how to use it, and how it could fit into my life. It has all the information that a new blogger needs to get started and make your blog function, look attractive, schedule posts, even how other bloggers plan their schedules to allow for writing, posting and commenting on other blogs. I still have so much to learn and once I cover all that I will move on to the more technical side of blogging.

In the past week alone, I have learned how to get a video to run and how to get custom buttons on my sidebar. This is taking so much time for me to learn that I haven’t had time to post about what has been going on in my life. BUT…now that I also learned from @killedtheblog how to schedule posts automatically, I will have a some new posts coming out this week (already written and scheduled!!), will hopefully be getting a regular posting schedule set up, thus allowing me to read alot more of your content and spend some time developing my new social circle.

Look out everyone, I’m coming into this century with a vengence!!

By commenting on this post, you WILL become my new best friend!!

